Abortion: Know the Law

Missouri Abortion Law

Section 188.027.1 (2) RSMo requires that the information included on this web page be given to women who are considering abortion.

The law also requires that women be informed that the life of each human being begins at conception.

Pregnancy is a life-altering event. Slow down and make sure you are making the right decision for yourself and your baby.

The revised Missouri Statute states that “Except in the case of a medical emergency, no abortion shall be performed or induced on a woman without her voluntary and informed consent, given freely and without coercion. Consent to an abortion is voluntary and informed and given freely and without coercion, if and only if, at least seventy-two hours prior to the abortion.”

 

The physician who is to perform or induce the abortion or a qualified professional must inform the woman, orally, reduced to writing, and in person, of the nature of the physical and emotional risks of the abortion procedure. The physician must also provide additional information and a chance to ask questions so an informed, private decision can be made without the influence of others.

 

The information required to be given must include some basic facts to help women decide whether to have an abortion or to continue the pregnancy to term: information on normal human embryonic and fetal development, methods and risks of abortion, the medical risks of childbirth, and the responsibilities of the father.

There are public and private agencies willing and able to help you to carry your child to term.

 

They will assist you and your child after your child is born.

 

They will help you decide to keep your child or place him or her for adoption.

 

The State of Missouri encourages you to contact those agencies before making a final decision about abortion.

 

State law requires that your physician or a qualified health professional give you the opportunity to call agencies like these before you undergo an abortion.”

 

RSMo. 188.027.(6)(d)

Did you know?

  • No one can force you into getting an abortion.

  • The physician performing the procedure must inform you of the physical and emotional risks of the abortion procedure.

  • The physician performing an abortion should provide you with the opportunity to view an active ultrasound at least 72 hours prior to the procedure.

  • You should be allowed to give your consent for the abortion in private, away from any form of coercion. If needed, you should be provided with an interpreter.

  • You are not required to pay any amount for the abortion until the 72-hour waiting period is expired.

  • Make sure you know whom to contact and where to go if you have complications following an abortion.

  • Watch out for symptoms of Post Abortion Depression and don’t be afraid to ask for assistance if depression occurs.

Know Where to Find Help

Alternatives to Abortion

A directory of services to assist women in carrying their pregnancy to term is available at a2a.mo.gov/ or by calling 1-800-835-5465